The Legal Requirements of Passing Another Vehicle in Florida
The desire to pass another vehicle while driving can stem from many factors. We have all ended up behind a vehicle that was going slower than we wanted to be driving. And we have also all seen a vehicle that seemed to be moving erratically that we wanted to get away from as quickly as possible.
However, serious accidents can happen when one driver attempts to pass another. Sometimes the passing driver miscalculates the pass, or is going at too high a speed, or is not paying attention to the other drivers due to distracted driving. These mistakes and miscalculations can lead to tragic results.
Fortunately, many of these accidents can be avoided by simply obeying laws that regulate passing and overtaking other vehicles.
What is the Law For Passing Another Vehicle in Florida?
Florida Statute 316.083 governs the passing and overtaking of other vehicles who are traveling in the same direction as you. This law outlines a few basic stipulations.
- Make sure that you signal appropriately. You should use your blinker to signal to the other driver that you are going to pass. If your blinker is broken, signal with your hand before attempting to pass.
- Pass on the left. You have to pass on the left at a safe distance and are required to wait until you are safely past the vehicle you are overtaking before returning to the right lane.
- Bicycles and other non-motorized vehicles. You are required to place at least 3 feet between your vehicle and the bicycle or non-motorized vehicle in order to maintain what is considered a safe distance under the law.
- Defer to the overtaking vehicle. Other than when passing on the right is allowed, you should give way to the vehicle doing the passing by moving into the right lane if possible. You should never increase your speed in order to block the passing vehicle from passing.
If you violate these vehicle passing rules, you can incur a noncriminal traffic violation with punishment similar to a moving violation.
Is That the Only Law I Should Be Aware of in Regard to Passing Another Vehicle?
No. In regard to being required to reposition your vehicle, you should also be aware that Florida law requires you to move over for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles and tow trucks or wreckers. And violating this law can also result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record.
Have You Or a Loved One Been Injured By a Driver Who Was Attempting to Pass Another Vehicle?
If you are injured in as the result of another driver’s negligent attempt to pass another vehicle, please call us. While we understand that car accidents are one of the most common personal injury claims, we also understand that each accident has unique and tragic consequences for the injured party and his or her family. The Florida auto accident attorneys at Leifer Law Firm have helped many injured victims in situations like yours during their 25 years of combined experience. Contact us today for help and we can begin helping you hold the responsible parties accountable.