Were You Hurt In A Hit-And-Run Accident?
Hit-and-run accidents increase over the summer months, along with speeding, drunk driving, and the number of young and inexperienced drivers on the road. While all car accidents can be a huge headache and cause major consequences for those injured, hit-and-run accidents are in a category of their own. For many drivers, a hit-and-run accident resulting in costly injuries is their worst nightmare because it means they will lack the financial support usually provided by the insurance company of the liable driver. However, if you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident you are not out of options. There are still ways to cover your injuries and possibly even hold the hit-and-run driver accountable, which we’ll explore more in this post.
Identifying the Hit-and-Run Driver
In Florida, fleeing the scene of an accident that you were involved in is not just a pain in the neck, it’s also a serious crime. Fleeing an accident that resulted in property damage can be charged as a class 2 misdemeanor, resulting in up to a month in jail, while an accident that caused injury can be charged as a second- or third-degree penalty and carry a jail sentence of up to 5 years. This means that the police have a vested interest in identifying the driver who fled. After the accident, be sure to try and write down any part of the license plate that you remember as well as a description of the car. Make a note of any cameras that may have recorded the scene, and get contact information from any witnesses. Of course, someone fleeing the scene of an accident may not have insurance, in which case, tracking them down will only be helpful if you decide to bring a personal injury lawsuit against them.
Insurance Coverage for Hit-and-Run Accidents in Florida
Even if the driver who hit you is unknown or does not have insurance, your own insurance can help cover your injuries in the event of an accident. PIP coverage, which all Florida drivers are required to have, provides $10,000 toward damages regardless of who is at fault. You will also be able to utilize uninsured motorist coverage, which provides more coverage in the event of a hit-and-run or uninsured driver accident. If these two policies do not cover the totality of your injuries, you can use your own collision coverage. This coverage applies regardless of who is at fault, but you will have to pay your deductible to use it. If you are able to identify the hit-and-run driver, you can bring a personal injury lawsuit to recoup your damages, and if you are not, there may still be additional parties that can be identified and held accountable for having contributed to causing the accident.
Contact Leifer Law Firm in Boca Raton, Florida
If you have been injured in a Boca Raton hit-and-run accident, you do not have to shoulder the burden alone. Contact the Boca Raton car accident lawyers at the Leifer Law Firm today and schedule a consultation to find out how we can help you receive the coverage and damages that you are entitled to.